Welcome to the Winslow Junior High School Website!

Our staff wore t-shirts to show our support for Autism Awareness. Thank you to Mark Hubbard for the  
                                                       photo and Student Council for our t-shirts! 

WJHS News 

Laptops Replacing iPads at the Junior High: Changes are coming this summer to the State of Maine MLTI program that provides devices for 7th and 8th grade students.  The Department of
Education decided to replace their devices a year early and offer schools the choice of iPads or laptops for the next cycle of the MLTI program.  Our Junior High chose laptops for students next year, so students will be receiving 11 inch MacBook Airs.  Unfortunately, our
schools are not being given the option to purchase the current MLTI devices.  You can find more information on the MLTI program at  www.mlti.org

Student of the Month

Winslow JHS will be highlighting a student each month who shows character, scholarship, citizenship, leadership, and community service.   Here are our new students of the month:

8th grade: Ross Hughes                  7th grade:  Karlie Ramsdell              6th grade:  Emma Farnham
 On Saturday, May 7th, the after school drama program, led by Ben Clark, competed in a state-wide competition and took home a large 3rd place trophy for overall in the acting category. Special recognition goes to Ellie Hatt and Riley Loftus for their 2nd place win the duo acting, Audrey and Mallory Sheridan for 1st place in improv and Owen Schuchardt and Aidan Larabee for 1st place in duo acting. Great job everyone and congratulations! 

Congratulations to Winslow Junior High School's Odyssey of the Mind team for qualifying for the world competition!  They are currently fundraising so they can attend the world competition in Iowa.  Click here  or contact Mrs. Lambert for more information.  Thank you for your support! 
Odyssey of the Mind Team: Kaylee Nadeau, Werkay Benson, Ethan Michaud, Aliana Lambert, Aidan Larrabee, and Allan Rogers. 

Did you know that Mrs. Brackett's students placed first in the KidWind challenge on April 1st? Students and schools from all over Maine competed to design and build wind turbines. Two of her students are fundraising to go to the national competition-- click HERE for more information

Mrs. Brackett's 7th and 8th graders also placed first in the Meridian stories contest! Congratulations to all! Click HERE and HERE to see their stories! 

A couple of weeks ago, the 6th grade class wrapped up their cat food drive for the Waterville Humane Society.
After a friendly competition between 6th grade homeroom classes, the winning class was Mrs. Marcia Jones' class with a total of over 700 cans of cat food! The entire 6th grade collected over 2000 cans of food which was deliver by the 6th grade teachers, and Mrs. Jones' homeroom. They were also able to take a tour of the Humane Society and visit with the animals. A special thank-you to everyone for making this a huge success!

Did you know that Ms. Hardy brings her 8th grade science students to the Challenger Center in Bangor every year? Click HERE to learn more about their visit this week during the 30th anniversary of the Challenger disaster. 

On Friday, January 15th, the director from the Humane Society, Lisa Smith, visited the 6th grade class to kick off their annual cat food drive. The 6th grade homeroom is having a contest to see which homeroom can bring in the most canned cat food from now until Feb. 9th. The winning homeroom gets to visit the shelter! Mrs. Smith also brought along some furry friends, four kittens and a puppy. The students enjoyed hearing Mrs. Smith talk about the shelter and got to ask any questions that they had, but their favorite part was holding the animals. The 6th grade goal is to collect 500 cans by February 9th. Thanks to all that have already contributed!

If you're interested in dental care for your child, please look out for the form for the dental clinic on March 2nd. Click here for more information.

Are you joining us for the Read It Local Challenge? Click here to learn more!

Want to ski with others from AOS92? Click HERE for more information about Ski Club and HERE for their calendar.  Email Gayle Giguere at gigue@aos92.org for more information. 

Congratulations to the winners of this year's ugly sweater competition, Mrs. Bourgoin and Sam! 

Did you see the article featuring the WJHS STEM program? Click here to read it! 

WJHS students celebrated the Day of the Dead in Spanish class. Click here to read the article!

Winslow Junior High 8th graders participated in the World Education Games and three students scored highly on the math section. See below! 
Congratulations to these students and all who participated in the World Education Games.
Our first dental clinic was a great success with students flashing brighter smiles!  Students received education, dental cleanings and many molars had sealants placed on them. Don't miss the next clinic in the spring!

Before you head out for school supplies, here are our supply lists for each grade:

                                                                        School Calendar 2015-2016

Congratulations to Mariah Morrison on being published in Teen Ink!  See her writing HERE. 

If you'd like to see the band's performance at the state house, click here or here.